Olly Wehring

just the Winners - International Wine & Spirit Competition 2013: The Trophy Winners

By | 24 July 2013

The International Wine & Spirit Competition has released its spirits winners for 2013

The International Wine & Spirit Competition has released its spirits winners for 2013

Earlier today (24 July), the International Wine & Spirit Competition released the list of full winners for spirits for 2013. Here is the list of trophy winners, and the nominees for spirits producer categories. These category winners will be announced at the annual awards banquet, which will be held in London on 13 November.

Fruit Spirit Trophy

  • Bimmerle's Goldhauch Alter Mirabellenbrand 6 Jahre Gelagert

Sake Trophy

  • Watanabe Sake Brewing Co's Ginjo Horai Dento Karakuchi 2011

Tequila Trophy

  • Beam Inc's El Tesoro Tequila Reposado

Cognac Trophy 

  • Distell's Richelieu XO

Pomace Brandy Trophy

  • Distilleria Marzadro's Grappa Le Diciotto Lune di Marzadro

Vodka Trophy

  • Beam Inc's Pinnacle Unflavored Vodka

Gin Trophy

  • Adnams Copper House Distillery's Adnams Copper House Gin

Worldwide Brandy Trophy

  • Asbach's Asbach Private Brand 8 Jahre Gerdeift

Rum Trophy

  • Demerara Distillers' 8 Year Old El Dorado Rum

Bourbon Trophy

  • Buffalo Trace Distillery's Eagle Rare Single Barrel Bourbon 10 YO Whiskey

Liqueur Trophy

  • Rives Pitman's VVH Vodk Caramel Liquor

The Independence Trophy for Blended Scotch Whisky

  • William Grant & Sons' William Grant 18 YO Scotch Whisky

Worldwide Whiskey Trophy

  • Whisky King Car Food Industrial Co's Kavalan Solist ex-Bourbon Cask Strength Single Malt

Single Malt Scotch Whisky - No Age Stated Trophy

  • The Glenmorangie Co's Glenmorangie Signet Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Single Malt Scotch Whisky - 15 Years & Under Trophy

  • Ben Nevis Distillery (Fort William) Ltd's Ben Nevis Single Cask Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky 15YO

Single Malt Scotch Whisky - Over 15 Years Trophy

  • William Grant & Sons' The Balvenie 40 YO Single Malt Speyside Scotch Whisky

Single Malt Scotch Whisky - Cask Strength Trophy

  • William Grant & Sons' Glenfiddich 40 YO Single Malt Speyside Scotch Whisky

Shochu Trophy

  • Hombo Shuzo Co's Arawaza Sakurajima 1 YO

Spirits Producer Shortlist

Portfolio awards will be assessed on overall performance in the competition. The winners from each will be put forward for the Distiller of the Year Trophy.

International Spirits Producer

  • Beam Inc
  • Chivas Brothers
  • William Grant & Sons

African Spirits Producer

  • Distell
  • KWV
  • Henry Tayler & Ries

Americas & the Caribbean Spirits Producer

  • Demerara Distillers
  • Angostura
  • Sazerac Co
  • Blanton Distilling Co

Asia Pacific Spirits Producer

  • King Car Food Industrial Co
  • Unkai Shuzo Co
  • Hombo Shuzo Co
  • Miyazaki Honten Brewery Co

European Spirits Producer

  • Calvados Christian Drouin
  • Chivas Brothers
  • ABK6 - Cognac SNC du Maine Drilhon
  • The Kilbeggan Distilling Co
  • Gonzalez Byass
  • Mackmyra Svensk Whisky

United Kingdom Spirits Producer

  • The Glenmorangie Co
  • Bunnhabhain Distillery
  • John Dewar & Sons
  • Diageo
  • Quality Spirits International

For the rest of the IWSC spirit winners, click here.

For the full list of awards, including bronze and silver medal winners, click here.

Sectors: Spirits

Companies: William Grant, Beam Inc, Glenmorangie, Distell, Chivas Brothers, Glenfiddich, KWV, Diageo

There are currently no comments on this article

Be the first to comment on this article

Related research

William Grant & Sons Ltd in Spirits (World)

William Grant has an extensive alcoholic drinks portfolio although it remains overly reliant on blended Scotch with Grant’s. The acquisition of Tullamore Dew in Irish whiskey as well as brands in tequila and rum give it a good basis for growth but it...

Beam Inc in Spirits (World)

Beam, as the world’s fourth largest international spirits company and seventh largest overall, should be in a strong position. In some ways it is, however, it suffers from a large proportion of its volumes being in low-growth brands and more importan...

Beam Inc. (BEAM) - Financial and Strategic SWOT Analysis Review

Beam Inc. (BEAM) - Financial and Strategic SWOT Analysis Review provides you an in-depth strategic SWOT analysis of the company’s businesses and operations. The profile has been compiled by GlobalData to bring to you a clear and an unbiased view of t...

Related articles

just For Subscribers - The week in drinks

Here are the ten most viewed, subscriber-only items on just-drinks this week:

just the Round-Up - The week in drinks

The top ten stories published on just-drinks this week:

AUS: Beam Inc confirms unit restructure, silent on staff exit reports

Beam Inc has confirmed that it is carrying out a restructure of its Australian unit to make the business more "agile".

Read further items in this columns

just the Winners

just-drinks brings you the winners of the main awards in the global drinks industry.

just-drinks tagline

Not a member? Join here

Decrease font sizeDecrease font sizeDecrease font size Increase font sizeIncrease font sizeIncrease font size Comment on this article Email this to a friend Print this page